For pioneering contributions in the design and implementation of hybrid and embedded control systems Biography: Paulo Tabuada was born in Lisbon, Portugal, one year after the Carnation Revolution. Between January and July he was a postdoctoral researcher at the University of Pennsylvania. Paulo Tabuada was the recipient of the Francisco de Holanda prize in for the best research project with an artistic or aesthetic component. Eckman award from the American Automatic Control Council.

Author:Vokora Kajicage
Language:English (Spanish)
Published (Last):1 February 2016
PDF File Size:5.13 Mb
ePub File Size:16.37 Mb
Price:Free* [*Free Regsitration Required]

Georgakis From left: C. Georgakis, D. Bertsekas, R. Yedavalli, W. Thompson, D. Tilbury, N. Kheir, A. Teel, L. Zaccarian, and D. Auslander Bellman Award recipient A.

Balakrishnan with D. Auslander and N. Kheir The Richard E. Bellman Control Heritage Award The award is given for distinguished career contributions to the theory or applications of automatic control. Richard E. Bellman, for whom the award is named, was an applied mathematician who pioneered the development of system theory as an academic discipline in the s and s. The Bellman Award is unique among the AACC awards in that it is made for lifetime contributions to control and systems engineering.

Such contributions may cover a range of technical areas or may have been put into practice in several different fields. Awarded to A. Balakrishnan for pioneering contributions to stochastic and distributed systems theory, optimization, control, and aerospace flight systems research. The Donald P. Eckman Award The Donald P. It was established in memory of Donald P. Eckman, who made important contributions to control theory and practice in the s and s but died tragically in an automobile accident in The purpose of this award is to recognize, particularly, important contributions to the control field made by younger researchers.

The age limit for the award was originally set at 30 years, but was later extended to 35 years of age at the time of the award as the control field grew and matured, in recognition of the difficulty of making leading edge contributions to a more mature field. While the Eckman Award is given for key contributions made prior to the age of 35, the recipient is normally expected to be the type of individual who will remain a leader in the controls profession; he is an example to be emulated by engineers entering the profession.

The Eckman award is often given for key contributions to a single field of research, based on the discovery of a new phenomenon or design method or scientific principle.

In practice, the award has usually been given to individuals who make theoretical contributions which have practical implications. However, the development of devices e. Awarded to Dawn M. The John R. These contributions can be from any source and in any media, i.

Due to the large number of well qualified nominees, this award is often one of the most difficult to assign. In evaluating a nominee for the Ragazzini Award, it is common for the Award Committee to seek evidence beyond what is provided in the nomination, such as searching the Citation Index, or considering the leadership positions assumed by graduate students, or evaluating key research results of former graduate students.

Education is viewed as a process which extends beyond the classroom or the advising functions of a particular faculty member. The Ragazzini Award has normally gone to university professors, but there is no formal requirement that nominees must be university professors. Accomplishments of former students may be considered in making the award. Awarded to Dimitri P. Bertsekas for outstanding contributions to graduate education and research in systems, control and optimization.

The Control Engineering Practice Award The Control Engineering Practice Award is given to one individual or one team to be selected from those nominated for significant contribution to the advancement of control practice.

The primary criterion for selection will be for the application and implementation of innovative control concepts, methodology, and technology, for the planning, design, manufacture, and operation of control systems.

Achievement and usefulness will be evidenced by the benefit to society and by the degree of acceptance by those who use control as a tool. The work on which the nomination is based must have been performed while the nominated individual or at least one member of the team was a resident of the USA. The award consists of a certificate and an honorarium.

In the event that the winner is a team, each member of the team will receive a certificate and the honorarium will be divided equally among the team members. Awarded to Warren A. Thompson for vision in process control application, ability to create buy-in at all levels, and world-wide influence on technology acceptance.

The O. In it was named after O. Hugo Schuck, a pioneer in the practice of flight control design at Honeywell, Inc. This award was established with the purpose not only of recognizing technical contributions, but also the manner and effectiveness with which they are communicated to the community at the American Control Conference. There are no restrictions on the number, age, or affiliation of authors. Nominations from other sources, following the conference, are also acceptable.

Selection criteria include quality of the written and oral presentation, technical contribution, timeliness, and practicality. Awarded to : L. Zaccarian, A. Teel, and J. Zaccarian and A. Teel receiving the award and R. Yedavalli receiving the award.


Automatic process control.



Automatic process control



Automatic process control.


Related Articles